How to Incorporate a Business in Maine (ME)
There are three ways to incorporate your business in Maine: hire a lawyer to do the job for you (a very expensive option), walk in to the State Department office and do it by yourself or to use a professional incorporation company, like Active Filings. Whatever method you chose, this section will provide you the basic information you need to know about ME filings.
Corporate Name Endings
The name cannot use any name the same as or deceptively similar to the name of any domestic corporation or qualified foreign corporation without authorization. The name cannot use a reserved name. The name shall not contain any word or phrase which indicates it is organized for any purpose not permitted by the Act.
Articles of Incorporation Requirements
* Minimum Number – Three or more. If only one or two shareholders, the number of directors can be less than three but not less than the number of shareholders.
* Residence Requirements. – No provision.
* Age Requirements – None.
* Directors are required to be listed in the articles of incorporation.
* The officers are not required to be listed in the articles of incorporation.
* An increase in the shares may cause an increase in the initial filing fee.
* Annual Statements
* File annually, on a staggered basis as determined by Secretary of State, for preceding 12-month period a $60 fee must accompany report.
Income Tax Rate
* A tax is imposed on Maine net income (MNI) of taxable corporations, except insurance companies and financial institutions, equal to 3.5% of MNI not over $25,000; 7.93% of MNI over $25,000 but not over $75,000; 8.33% of MNI over $75,000 but not over $250,000; 8.93% of MNI over 250,000.
For more information on taxes, visit http://www.maine.gov/revenue/
Cost of Incorporating in Maine
ONLY $59.00 + State Fees!
Incorporate your business online. Start Here: