How to Incorporate a Business in Nebraska (NE)
There are three ways to incorporate your business in Nebraska: hire a lawyer to do the job for you (a very expensive option), walk in to the State Department office and do it by yourself or to use a professional incorporation company, like Active Filings. Whatever method you chose, this section will provide you the basic information you need to know about NE filings.
NE Corporate Name Endings
The name must be distinguishable from that of any corporation authorized to transact business in the state; a reserved or registered name; the fictitious name of a foreign corporation; any assumed business name, limited partnership, limited liability company, trademark, or service mark. The name must contain word “corporation”, “company”, “incorporated”, “limited”, or an abbreviation of such words or words or abbreviations.
Nebraska Articles of Incorporation Requirements
* Minimum Number – One or more.
* Residence Requirements. – No provision.
* Age Requirements – None.
* Directors are not required to be listed in the articles of incorporation.
* The officers are not required to be listed in the articles of incorporation.
* An increase in the amount of authorized capital stock may cause an increase in the initial filing fee.
All corporations must file biennial occupation tax reports in even number years, and all limited liability companies must file biennial reports in odd number years. The report is mailed to the registered agent on record as of Jan. 1 of the reporting year. The corporate occupation tax report is due March 1 and delinquent April 15 of the reporting year. The limited liability company biennial report is due April 1 and delinquent June 2 of the reporting year.
Failure to pay the tax or fee and submit the report as required by law will result in administrative dissolution. Should the corporation wish to continue business, it must reinstate by filing an application for reinstatement and pay all delinquent occupation taxes with interest, plus a $30.00 application fee. A limited liability company must pay all delinquent fees, plus a $115.00 application fee, to reinstate.
Depending on the nature of your business, there will be other local, state and federal agencies that you will need to contact in connection with starting your business.
Any corporation or other entity taxed as a corporation under the Internal Revenue Code, whether foreign, domestic, or domesticated, shall be subject to the Nebraska income tax; provided such corporate entity is not exempt under the provisions of Public Law 86-272 (15 U.S.C.A. 381-384, 1959), is not a financial institution, and has part of its federal taxable income derived from sources within Nebraska (Neb.Rev.Stat. Sections 77-2734.02, 77-2734.04, and 77-3801).
Taxes in Nebraska start at 2.56% to 6.85% depending on the net income of the business.
For more information on taxes, visit http://www.state.mt.us/revenue/css/default.asp
Cost of Incorporating in Nebraska
ONLY $59.00 + State Fees!
Incorporate your business online. Start Here: