Formally named “Convention of 5 October 1961 Abolishing the Requirement of Legalization for Foreign Public Documents,” the Hague Convention of 1961 established a way for nations to authenticate public documents without having to enact legislation. In short, public legal documents must be notarized in order to be accepted by international bodies. The procedure usually takes a long time, so for that reason, the Hague Apostille was introduced to speed up and simplify the legalization and acceptance of international documents, which is especially helpful for international business and trade.

The following countries are members of the Hague Apostille Convention:

Albania Andorra Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Australia
Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Barbados Belarus
Belgium Belize Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil
Brunei Bulgaria Burundi Cape Verde Chile Colombia
Cook Islands Costa Rica Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark
Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador El Salvador Estonia Fiji
Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Grenada
Guatemala Guyana Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland
India Ireland Israel Italy Japan Kazakhstan
Kosovo Kyrgyzstan Latvia Lesotho Liberia Liechtenstein
Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Malawi Malta Marshall Islands
Mauritius Mexico Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro
Morocco Namibia Netherlands New Zealand Nicaragua Niue
North Macedonia Norway Oman Palau Panama Paraguay
Peru Philippines Poland Portugal Romania Russia
Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino São Tomé and Príncipe
Serbia Seychelles Slovakia Slovenia South Africa South Korea
Spain Suriname Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Tajikistan
Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Ukraine UK
United States Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela

You can also check for any updates to this list at 
The Hague Convention website.